Saturday, October 17, 2009

Sorry..

Sorry guys. I know I promised to blog more before, but I got caught with so many things! I'm officially back now. lol
Spread the word & help me promote my blog please. I need more followers in order for this to be even more successful.

Also you can follow me on twitter --> http://twitter.com/Laja_Ni
....that's the address until i decide to change it again

New Posts coming very soon!

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Not woman enough?

It hurts my heart to see a great African athlete's womanhood being question. I hate thinking maybe I'm making something out of nothing but this is foolish. A lot of people don't think she's a woman because she's not feminine for them. Why cant women be more than an object, a face, or a body? This woman worked hard for her efforts to be snatched away because they don't think she's woman enough. What kills me is if she was supposedly in question BEFORE the race, why did they let her compete anyway? I think it's because they didn't expect her to win but now that she did, it's a big deal. I doubt if she didn't break records and won but instead place 2nd or 3rd, they wouldn't be questioning her. I think it's because she's an African woman who took her sport seriously enough to train to win, to be the best.

It has be proven that a woman's estrogen level can be lowered by vigorous training for sports like this. Also that a female can be born w/ male chromosomes.....
I guess we will see if her gold gets snatched

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Missing the Point..

It's sad to say that most people miss the point. How so? Well, in order for most people to understand the "moral of the story," it has to be drawn out for them literally but even then most miss the message. Especially in movies! Films such as "My sister's keeper" brings up deep issues that occur today in a story that is very easy to understand and grasp. Most agree to say it is indeed sad and choose sides to say who is right yet still miss the mark. Others such as my favorites, "Juno" and "Mean Girls," gives us stories to play with. It is up to you to look further into the purpose of the message. Some may "Juno" will show that teenagers go through tough decisions and issues just like adults, or that "Mean Girls" will show the extreme measures teens take to reach a certain level in social standing, rather than treat everyone the same. I agree to an extent, but I believe it goes much deeper than.

In my opinion, it teaches you that life is about the simple things and that you should look past such materialistic things. Juno, is basically a social outcast already who only hangs with her best friends Leah and Bleaker. Her pregnancy justs adds to her quirkiness. In her world, this is perfection. She doesn't complain or ask for more, such as popularity and to be seen as beautiful by the whole school. The sarcastic teen feels complete with her love for odd things and bestfriend/bandmate Paulie Bleaker.

We often hope for someone who loves us flaws and all, both friendship and relationship wise. Nowadays, people are being pushed to be something they're not only to satisfy others. Why? Because people ignore the beauty on the inside. Everyone is stuck on who dresses the best, has the best hair, the best shoes, how they appear physically at all times. It's a shame that people disassociate themselves from others because of appearance. Your physical appearance only lasts so long, it is only human nature until it begins to whither away. Yet, we still people to look perfect. This how low self-esteem is created and how people begin to have excessive plastic surgery performed on them because someone ELSE is CONSTANTLY pointing out imperfections as if that makes someone.

Which brings me to "Mean Girls." Cady was pushed to be someone she was not which eventually caused her to lose her friends, the trust of her parents, the boy she liked, and her good grades. Acceptance by peers is a serious issue that people often ignore. It's sad because something material you think you have over someone does not make you better than another. You're only holding yourself back. Like the Mathlete Tournament scene in the movie where Cady degrades her female opponent's apperance. She soon realizes that talking about her or making fun of her was not going to stop the girl from beating her. I feel we all need to realize that putting down others doesn't make us win but actually lose in our own right. I call it losing points in your character and personality because it shows what type of person you are. Instead of helping people or lifting their spirits, they are put down for the dumbest reasons. Unfortunately, in society this is something that won't change soon if not at all. All I can do is shake my head and hope I surround myself with positive people who accept me for who I am.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Reality Tv??

Before I used to think that reality was not "real" but something else created to entertain us no matter how mellowdramatic and outrageous it can be. According to my research, it has been around since the 1940s but didnt blow up until the 1990s when the first "Real World" premiered. It really emerged with shows like "Fear Factor," "Survivor," and "The Amazing Race." Naturally the success spurred many long running shows we have today but has taken a turn for the worst in recent years.
No longer are people watching the competition shows or shows forcing strangers to live with each other, but are tuning into so-called love shows and shows of basically people making a fool of themselves just for a paycheck. I used to think people went on those shows being ignorant to become a star or get paid more but now I believe it's much deeper than that. I believe that it shows just how ignorant most of the American people act and how acceptable it is. The news doesn't even report "news" anymore, most of the time it is scandal and gossip as if it is a regular tabloid.
The media in general has fallen off, but they are not the total blame. We give them their ratings and their money for magazines, etc. We are continuously glued to the radio, tv, internet or whatever way we receive our info to feed into this nonsense. Home pages of websites and radio/tv commercials are flooded with the mess we see on Tv. Continuously worried about who's gay, who is dating who, who's on drugs, etc etc and supporting pure trash on so called television shows.
Enough ranting....LOL
Anyway, the new reality shows are real in my opinion. I say this because it shows us what we need to fix as a community. We are ashamed of these ppl [whether it's b/c you're black, a female, a mother, an artist, etc] because they are generally embarrassing us as whole...or are they?? This is how other nations view our country, as a joke! I can go on and on but sadly no ones cares..in the end, it's about the money.

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

M.I.A

I've been gone from here for soooooo long and I have so much to post. I am sorry that I have been slacking but I have a lot going on. Nothing particularly negative, just very time-consuming. I promise to come on here between vacations, financial things, other obligations, and whatever else I may be doing because I did not make this account in vain. I have so much to talk about!! From regular news to my specialty, social issues!!

Anywho thanks for reading && following!! Plz reccommend me to others!
=)

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

In the end aren't we all the same (Repost)

Who are we to blame for the racism and the hate within the black communit? Some say whites, others say blacks but in reality it's the whole human race. Some type of discrimination has been going on forever. Ancient Empires in Africa have been separating people for who knows long. And we all know the Rwanda incident (If you don't, research on your own time.) Also, from the slavery era, where the slaves were separated on physical standards.

The ignorance of oth people has sadly continued to current times. With people now being classified as Black, White, Mixed, Other, Black Hispanic, White Hispanic, etc. Most people feel the need to express what is in their blood rather than state they are Black. Some Africans refuse to be associated with African-Americans. Others do a natural "brown paper bag test" without even taking the action.

There is an identity issue going on, along with self-hate. Why do most people go out of their way to acknowledge their other nationalities before being "Black?" Guess what Dominicans, Puerto Rican, Islanders, etc???? You are indeed BLACK! Whether it show or not, a nice lesson in history will show the stop of the slave trade BEFORE it fluorished in America. (So guys before you say you want a Latina before a Black girl, make sure you remember that she is black ;)!)

Also, Colorism has hugely affected the Black Community. The whole "light skin versus dark skin" thing. I have actually been told by a few students at FAMU that light skin is indeed better!! They also said there are rarely any nice-looking darker people.
  • Complexion is often an issue in African Nations.
  • Those light enough to pass for white to pass for white received special treatment or weren't slaves at all (sometimes adopted by a white family).
  • The house/field slave issue causes hate within blacks.
  • Darker is dumb, dirty, poor, uncivilized & Light is smarter (not as smart as whites), nicer, wealthier, better (b/c they "must" have white blood).

With the Rwanda situation, the two groups (hutu and tutsi) were originally separated by complexion and features (big/small lips/nose etc). Years later a pointless war still continued to be fought even though at that point, some people often looked the same but were classified different from years of foolishness.

What people don't realize is that the prejudices affects all aspects of life (Friendships, work, relationships, etc). To say it's not true is lie because people often have something simple but negative against them. I know girls much darker than I am who say people have told them, "You are very pretty to be darkskinned!" What has the world come to?

Finally, the "good hair versus bad hair" drama. What is "good hair?" From my research, "good hair" is classified as hair that is easy to manage and takes products well. "Bad Hair" is obviously the opposite, being nappy and rough.

The "good hair" is not only an obsession in the Black Community. Many races want because it is "cute." People often push out the idea that hair is not good unless it is soft/curly or long/straight. Such as, if you don't have "Good hair" you might as well relax it and OFTEN do so. Blacks are quick to tell a woman she needs to relax her hair simply because they do not like how it looks. It's a shame that pregnant women of African-American descent hope for a boy or a girls with "good hair" because it is hard managing naps and it takes too many hours to detangle.

We are taught at a young age, most of the time, that nappy/thick is bad. All of the famous blacks are out in movies, videos, magazines, etc with long weaves, wigs, and lace fronts which almost always have the "good hair" look. WHAT AN INFLUENCE!!

I am of African-American, Native American, Costa Rican descent. My dad's mom can pass for white since she is so light and her hair is naturally bone straight. I used to be lighter as a child but now I am brown. I am now one of the darkest in my family (on that side). My natural hair was long, black, very thick but curly when wet and poofy shrinkage when dry. I consider myself Black but if someone asks, I will tell them my heritage. When filling out things, I mark Black b/c that is what I am. People often judge by looking at you. I remember someone in high school touched my hair, which was natural at the time, by accident and was surprised by the texture & how soft it was. Saying that it looked nappy just because I didnt look mixed and my hair was thick. Also people refuse to believe what you are mixed with b/c you are not "Red-Boned." Or because my nose isn't thin enough, lips aren't small enough, etc.

This madness has to stop!!